GSIS LibGuides: Secondary Library: Websites for Research

Websites for Research

Ad*Access Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Biography.com Biography.com captures the most gripping, surprising and fascinating stories about people.
Encyclopedia Mythica Encyclopedia Mythica is an internet encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and religion.
Poetry Foundation The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
Project Gutenberg Choose among free epub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world’s great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired.
Whichbook Use our unique mood and emotion search to find great books with exactly the flavour you've asked for.
What Should I Read Next? Enter a book you like and the site will analyse our huge database of real readers' favorite books to provide book recommendations and suggestions for what to read next.

Forvo: All the words in the world. Pronounced. The pronunciation dictionary
Gate2Home On-screen virtual keyboard emulator.

Bureau of Labor Statistics An official website of the United States government Department of Labor.
Business and Human Rights Resource Centre This organization works to advance human rights in business and eradicate abuse.
CI: Corporate Information Financial information on over 35,000 companies worldwide.
Doing Business Doing Business provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 190 economies.
EDGAR All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free.
globalEDGE Funded in part by the U.S. Department of Education Title VI B grant, globalEDGE delivers a comprehensive research tool for academics, students and businesspeople.
Index of Economic Freedom The Index covers 12 freedoms – from property rights to financial freedom – in 186 countries.

American History

Ad*Access Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
AMDOCS Documents for the study of American History.
American Rhetoric Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
BlackPast.org The global African History section of BlackPast.org.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Densho A grassroots organization dedicated to preserving, educating, and sharing the story of World War II-era incarceration of Japanese Americans in order to deepen understandings of American history and inspire action for equity.
Digital History Using new technologies to enhance teaching and research.
Digital Public Library of America Discover 40,807,340 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States.

World History

Best of History Websites Best of History Web Sites, created by EdTechTeacher, is an award-winning portal that contains annotated links to over 1200 history web sites.
Eternal Egypt Eternal Egypt is a living record of a land rich in art and history, people and places, myths and religions.
HyperHistory Over 3000 files covering 3000 years of World History.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

Geography and Culture

The World Factbook The World Factbook is created by the U.S. CIA and provides information on the various countries and cultures around the world. Created by the U.S. Government, this can be trusted as a reliable source for information on various countries during research.
United Nations Geospacial Information Section This is the UN website devoted to maps and information about the countries of the world.
National Geographic Maps This website from National Geographic provides access to maps and map stories to help students studying various places understand them.
Country Statistics Economic and social statistics on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children’s well-being, are published annually.
Country Studies Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world.
Google Maps

Global Issues

BBC Country Profiles Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
Constitute The world's constitutions to read, search, and compare.
Council on Foreign Relations The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries
Europa The European Union at a Glance An official website of the European Union about the EU.

Environmental Science

Biodiversity Heritage Library The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Encyclopedia of Life Our Mission: To increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.
Eric Weisstein's World of Science: A Wolfram Web Resource A resource for math and science on the Internet.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species Established in 1964, the International Union for Conservation of Nature’s Red List of Threatened Species has evolved to become the world’s most comprehensive information source on the global extinction risk status of animal, fungus and plant species.

Biology

AIDSInfo Provided in collaboration with NIH’s Office of Aids Research
MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is a great database for looking up information on health topics, medication and supplements, and other medical information.
Diseases and Conditions This is a database of articles on various diseases and health conditions that have been created and maintained by the U.S. government.
PLOS Biology A reliable open-source database that provides access to articles on Biology and other sciences.
Encyclopedia of Life Our Mission: To increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.
Biodiversity Heritage Library The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.
Genetics Home Reference Find consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.
Eric Weisstein's World of Science: A Wolfram Web Resource A resource for math and science on the Internet.
Genome.gov National Human Genetics Research Institute offers access to reliable and timely information about genomics research and the human genome.

Chemistry

Dynamic Periodic Table A dynamic, searchable periodic table.
Elemental Data Index The Elemental Data Index provides access to the holdings of NIST Physical Measurement Laboratory (PML) online data organized by element. It is intended to simplify the process of retrieving online scientific data for a specific element from various online databases, including atomic spectroscopy, atomic data, x-ray absorption, and nuclear data.
Eric Weisstein's World of Science: A Wolfram Web Resource A resource for math and science on the Internet.

Physics

Eric Weisstein's World of Science: A Wolfram Web Resource A resource for math and science on the Internet.

Design Technology

Invention Dimension The Lemelson-MIT Program has helped thousands of students and educators learn to invent and has recognized hundreds of collegiate and midcareer inventors for 25 years.

Eric Weisstein's World of Science: A Wolfram Web Resource A resource for math and science on the Internet.

Visual Arts

Ad*Access Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Art UK Art UK is the online home for every public art collection in the UK
Art and Architecture Thesaurus Search tools and databases relating to art, artists, and cultural items.
Google Art Project Google Arts and Culture opens up the cultural world to everyone, everywhere, in unique and inspiring ways.
Artcyclopedia The fine art search engine.
The Art Story Your guide to visual art.
AskART Research art by style, topic, movement, artist, medium, and more.
Great Buildings Online More than 1000 great buildings from around the world and across history are listed and illustrated on this web site.

Theatre

American Film Institute Catalog Learn more about the first 100 Years of American Film.

Music

International Music Score Library Project Sharing the world’s public domain music.

Bible Hub This online database provides access to commentaries, sermons, full-text versions of the Bible and various other documents relating to Bible study.
Blue Letter Bible Blue Letter Bible provides powerful tools for an in-depth study of God’s Word through our free online reference library, with study tools that are grounded in the historical, conservative Christian faith.
Encyclopedia Mythica Encyclopedia Mythica is an internet encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and religion.
Eternal Egypt Eternal Egypt is a living record of a land rich in art and history, people and places, myths and religions.

Health

MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is a great database for looking up information on health topics, medication and supplements, and other medical information.
Diseases and Conditions This is a database of articles on various diseases and health conditions that have been created and maintained by the U.S. government.
Go Ask Alice The Go Ask Alice! site is supported by a team of Columbia University health promotion specialists, health care providers, and other health professionals, along with a staff of information and research specialists and writers.
AIDSInfo Provided in collaboration with NIH’s Office of Aids Research

Child Care and Early Education Research Promoting high-quality research and informing policy through free access to thousands of publications.

Colleges & Scholarships

College Navigator Find the right college for you with information from the National Center for Education Statistics.
FastWeb: Scholarships, Financial Aid, and Colleges Fastweb is your connection to scholarships, colleges, financial aid and more.

Career

Career Outlook The Bureau of Labor Statistics creates the Career Outlook website to give the public information on careers and various statistics associated with them, career planning, data on various aspects of the labor force, and education and training information.
CareerOneStop Find career, training and job search resources.