Research Guide - DP Theatre | Theatre Theorists - GSIS LibGuides at Gyeonggi Suwon International School

Types of Sources

Primary Sources - A first hand account of an event or topic. Primary sources are the most direct evidence of a time or event because they existed or were created by people who were there at the time or event.
Examples of primary sources for theatre:

A work of theatre itself (script/text or recorded performance)
Stage sketches, drawings, pictures, plans, or photographs
Reviews of major productions
Interviews with playwrights, directors, actors, set designers, producers, etc.
Drama workshops

Secondary Sources - Texts focused on the person, event, or time period being investigated but published later
Examples of secondary sources for theatre

Textbooks, journals, articles, critiques, documentaries, websites, theatrical reviews, theatre magazines, etc.

Image source: Cirque du Soleil's KÀ . image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 6 Aug. 2021. school.eb.com/levels/high/assembly/view/123668. Accessed 18 Nov. 2021.

Theatre Theorists

Adolphe Appia
Antonin Artaud
Pina Bausch
Steven Berkoff
Rustom Bharucha
Alecky Blythe
Anne Bogart
Peter Brook
Joseph Chaiken
Veenaphi Chawla
Jacques Copeau
Edward Gordan Craig
Etienne Decroux
Fortunato Depero
Cicely Berry
Dario Fo
Phillippe Gaulier
Natalia Goncharova
Pamela Howard
Joan Littlewood

Print Resources

LIBRARY BOOKS

Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Research Databases

RESEARCH DATABASES

Login information for each database can be found on your teacher's class resources page, or you can contact the secondary librarian.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica has been providing high-quality encyclopedias for years. Now available online, this general encyclopedia can be used to find information on a wide variety of subjects at all levels.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, peer-reviewed articles, primary sources and books and is a wonderful tool for IAs and research projects.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window Explora Secondary Schools combines a user-friendly interface with the ability to search all of our EBSCO provided databases at once. It includes search results from MAZ Complete, Topic Overviews, Science Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, and TOPICsearch.
Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window Advanced Placement Source is designed to provide access to high-quality articles and images for use in AP and IB courses. It is excellent for a variety of subjects and can be used to help with research from MYP through DP.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window This database contains articles from a variety of newspapers and magazines from around the world. An excellent resource for looking for recent or historical news and information.

Websites & Multimedia Research Resources

Theatre History on the Web
Theatre History on the Web includes links to theatre-related materials as well as historical material.
Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia
An ongoing, accessible, database of information about Canadian actors, playwrights, directors, producers, designers, theatre organizations and institutions, composers and plays available to the world.
The WWW Virtual Library - Theatre and Drama
Here you will find pointers to resources in more than 50 countries around the world, for professionals, amateurs, academics and students of all ages.
Eckerd College Theatre Research Guide - Websites
A comprehensive collection of websites for students to use for theatre research.

Giving Credit to Research Sources

An excellent tool for creating MLA style citations for your resources/works cited list! NoodleTools can also be use for taking notes, organizing your ideas, and much more!

Click on the NoodleTools Icon at the left to go to the NoodleTools website
Click "Login" in the top right corner
Use the Google Sign-in button and your GSIS email address to log in

Reference List

A list of all primary and secondary research sources used

In MLA8 format, sources should be alphabetical by the last name of the author (or title if there is no author)

Reference Citations Format by Type of Source

Basic formatting for various reference citations:

Book
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Database Article
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. (volume number), no. (issue number), Date published. Title of Database, url. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Digital Image
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Image.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Online Video
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Video.” Title of Website, uploaded by (user name), upload date (Ex. 3 July 2012), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Website
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Page.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).