Home - MYP I&S 2 | The Silk Road - GSIS LibGuides at Gyeonggi Suwon International School

Types of Sources

Primary Sources - Texts or artifacts created during the time period being investigated
Examples of primary sources: histories, letters, images, objects, speeches, charters, laws, diaries, buildings, newspapers, posters, photos

Secondary Sources - Texts focused on the time period being investigated but published after it
Examples of secondary sources: histories, documentaries, websites, journals, films, history magazines, textbooks

Image from: Silk Road. Image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 8 Aug. 2020. school.eb.com/levels/middle/assembly/view/220653. Accessed 8 Oct. 2020.

Silk Road Inquiry

Inquiry Question:

What was (Constantinople, Antioch, Baghdad, Maracanda, Kashgar, Chang'an) like during the 2nd Golden Era of the Silk Road?

Research Databases

Login information for each database can be found on your teacher's class resources page, or you can contact the secondary librarian.

Brain POP This link opens in a new window The BrainPOP database contains animated movies that engage students via narrative, humor, and relatable characters, encouraging self-directed learning and further exploration of the world around them.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica has been providing high-quality encyclopedias for years. Now available online, this general encyclopedia can be used to find information on a wide variety of subjects at all levels.
Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window Ancient and Medieval History is an excellent resource for images, primary sources, and articles on Ancient and Medieval History. A wonderful resource for students in I&S classes.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window Explora Secondary Schools combines a user-friendly interface with the ability to search all of our EBSCO provided databases at once. It includes search results from MAZ Complete, Topic Overviews, Science Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, and TOPICsearch.
Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window Advanced Placement Source is designed to provide access to high-quality articles and images for use in AP and IB courses. It is excellent for a variety of subjects and can be used to help with research from MYP through DP.

Supporting Questions

Supporting questions about your assigned city:

What was its reputation at the time?
How did it compare to other cities in the world at that time?
What did it look, sound, feel, smell and taste like?
How did it contribute to the Silk Road’s transmission of goods and ideas?
What / Who did it receive from the Silk Road network?
To what extent were the people of _______ connected to other Silk Road peoples?

Library Books for Research

Electronic Books

Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.
World History Textbook
Download the entire Zip file and use Adobe Acrobat Reader to open it. Click on the “Start” file to open.

Websites & Multimedia Research Resources

Websites

The Silk Road | National Geographic Research Library
Encyclopedia article about the Silk Road with a collection of interactive resources.
UNESCO Silk Roads Programme
Information and maps about traveling the Silk Roads.
Marco Polo - History.com
A description of Marco Polo's travels along the Silk Road.
DK Findout! | The Silk Road Ancient Chinese Trade
Interactive map and information about the Silk Road.
Asia Society - The Silk Road a Larger View
Learn more about the history and cultures of the Silk Road.
TEDEd The Silk Road: Connecting the ancient world through trade
Shannon Harris Castelo unfolds the history of the 5,000-mile Silk Road, a network of multiple routes that used the common language of commerce to connect the world's major settlements, thread by thread.
The Silk Road and Ancient Trade: Crash Course World History #9
John Green teaches you about the Silk Road, a network of trade routes where goods such were exchanged across the ancient world, from China to the West.
ECAI Silk Road Atlas
A collection of interactive atlases detailing routes of the Silk Road.
China Highlights - Ancient Silk Road Map
Maps of the Ancient Silk Road and five dynasties.
World Map - The Silk Road
This map shows various routes and locations along the ancient Silk Road, with layers to examine the interactions of various aspects of physical and cultural geography pertaining to it. Clicking on routes and locations will reveal information and links.

Giving Credit to Research Sources

An excellent tool for creating MLA style citations for your resources/works cited list! NoodleTools can also be use for taking notes, organizing your ideas, and much more!

Click on the NoodleTools Icon at the left to go to the NoodleTools website
Click "Login" in the top right corner
Use the Google Sign-in button and your GSIS email address to log in

Reference List

A list of all primary and secondary research sources used

In MLA8 format, sources should be alphabetical by the last name of the author (or title if there is no author)

Reference Citations Format by Type of Source

Basic formatting for various reference citations:

Book
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Database Article
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. (volume number), no. (issue number), Date published. Title of Database, url. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Digital Image
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Image.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Online Video
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Video.” Title of Website, uploaded by (user name), upload date (Ex. 3 July 2012), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Website
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Page.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).

MYP I&S 2 | The Silk Road: Home