Home - MYP I&S 3 | Korean History - GSIS LibGuides at Gyeonggi Suwon International School

Types of Sources

Primary Sources - Texts or artifacts created during the time period being investigated
Examples of primary sources: histories, letters, images, objects, speeches, charters, laws, diaries, buildings, newspapers, posters, photos

Secondary Sources - Texts focused on the time period being investigated but published after it
Examples of secondary sources: histories, documentaries, websites, journals, films, history magazines, textbooks

Image from: Koryŏ dynasty: decorative bottle. Image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 8 Aug. 2020. school.eb.com/levels/high/assembly/view/121179. Accessed 2 Sep. 2020.

Statement of Inquiry

What about the (subtopic) of the (era/dynasty) era of Korean history is relevant to us today?

Research Focus

Eras

Three Kingdoms
Unified Silla
Koryo
Joseon

Sub Topics

a) Politics/ Philosophy

b) Economics/ Trade

c) Social/ Cultural

d) Technological Developments

Library Books for Research

Electronic Books

Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

World History Textbook
(you need to download the entire Zip file and use Adobe Acrobat Reader to open it- click on the “Start” file just like the American History text)

Research Databases

Login information for each database can be found on your teacher's class resources page, or you can contact the secondary librarian.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica has been providing high-quality encyclopedias for years. Now available online, this general encyclopedia can be used to find information on a wide variety of subjects at all levels.
Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window Ancient and Medieval History is an excellent resource for images, primary sources, and articles on Ancient and Medieval History. A wonderful resource for students in I&S classes.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window Explora Secondary Schools combines a user-friendly interface with the ability to search all of our EBSCO provided databases at once. It includes search results from MAZ Complete, Topic Overviews, Science Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, and TOPICsearch.

PBS - Hidden Korea
An introduction to Korean history with topics such as geography, history, culture, religion, and food.
Timemaps
An interactive timeline.
The MET Museum: Korea, 1000–1400 A.D.
A timeline of Korean history from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
Fact Monster - Korean History
An encyclopedia with information about each of the Korean eras.

The Korean History Database
An online database that contains a number of primary sources, including scans of important historical items and documents.
Korean History Contents
An educational website on Korean History.
The Annals of the Choson Dynasty
An online database that contains extensive records on the Choson Dynasty. Also has English Language option.
Korean History Online
A Search Engine dedicated to websites about Korean History.

Giving Credit to Research Sources

An excellent tool for creating MLA style citations for your resources/works cited list! NoodleTools can also be use for taking notes, organizing your ideas, and much more!

Click on the NoodleTools Icon at the left to go to the NoodleTools website
Click "Login" in the top right corner
Use the Google Sign-in button and your GSIS email address to log in

Reference List

A list of all primary and secondary research sources used

In MLA8 format, sources should be alphabetical by the last name of the author (or title if there is no author)

Reference Citations Format by Type of Source

Basic formatting for various reference citations:

Book
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Database Article
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. (volume number), no. (issue number), Date published. Title of Database, url. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Digital Image
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Image.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Online Video
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Video.” Title of Website, uploaded by (user name), upload date (Ex. 3 July 2012), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Website
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Page.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).

MYP I&S 3 | Korean History: Home