Home - MYP I&S 4 | The Cold War - GSIS LibGuides at Gyeonggi Suwon International School

Types of Sources

Primary Sources - Texts or artifacts created during the time period being investigated
Examples of primary sources: histories, letters, images, objects, speeches, charters, laws, diaries, buildings, newspapers, posters, photos

Secondary Sources - Texts focused on the time period being investigated but published after it
Examples of secondary sources: histories, documentaries, websites, journals, films, history magazines, textbooks

Image source: North Atlantic Treaty Organization . image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 19 Feb. 2021. school.eb.com/levels/high/assembly/view/70878. Accessed 26 Apr. 2021.

Statement of Inquiry

How did specific events from 1945-1990 influence the increase or decrease of tensions between the Western and Communist superpowers during the Cold War?

Primary Source Resources

Internet History Sourcebooks Project - Cold War Resources
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.
DocsTeach
Primary source documents from the National Archives.
Spartacus Educational - Cold War Resources
Primary source documents and educational resources.
LIFE Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.

Significant Events

Czech Coup (1948)
Berlin Blockade and Berlin Airlift
Iranian Coup (Mossadegh)
First Taiwan Strait Crisis
Bandung Conference
Hungarian Revolution
U-2 incident
Sino-Soviet split
Building of Berlin Wall
Cuban Missile Crisis
Vietnam War
Space race
Prague Spring
SALT agreements (1 and 2)
US-China Ping Pong diplomacy
Helsinki Accords
Angolan Civil War
Soviet invasion of Afghanistan
Solidarity Protests in Poland
Strategic Defense Initiative
Gorbachev- perestroika and glasnost
Iran-Contra affair
Chernobyl Disaster

Research Databases

Login information for each database can be found on your teacher's class resources page, or you can contact the secondary librarian.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica has been providing high-quality encyclopedias for years. Now available online, this general encyclopedia can be used to find information on a wide variety of subjects at all levels.
American History Online This link opens in a new window American History Online includes primary sources, images, maps, timelines, and articles specific to American History. This is an excellent resource for students in Individuals and Societies classrooms, as well as those studying American History.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window Modern World History provides primary sources, images, and articles on subjects related to World History. An excellent database with good reliable materials.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Global Issues in Context provides collections of information from a variety of sources on topics that are currently of interest around the world. The database provides access to information from reference books, newspapers, websites, encyclopedias, and more. It gives more than one viewpoint and uses resources from around the world to give users a truly global viewpoint in their research.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window This database contains articles from a variety of newspapers and magazines from around the world. An excellent resource for looking for recent or historical news and information.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window Explora Secondary Schools combines a user-friendly interface with the ability to search all of our EBSCO provided databases at once. It includes search results from MAZ Complete, Topic Overviews, Science Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, and TOPICsearch.
Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window Advanced Placement Source is designed to provide access to high-quality articles and images for use in AP and IB courses. It is excellent for a variety of subjects and can be used to help with research from MYP through DP.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR provides access to academic journal articles, peer-reviewed articles, primary sources and books and is a wonderful tool for IAs and research projects.

Library Books for Research

World History Textbook
(you need to download the entire Zip file and use Adobe Acrobat Reader to open it- click on the “Start” file just like the American History text)

Electronic Books

Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Academic Search Engines

Giving Credit to Research Sources

An excellent tool for creating MLA style citations for your resources/works cited list! NoodleTools can also be use for taking notes, organizing your ideas, and much more!

Click on the NoodleTools Icon at the left to go to the NoodleTools website
Click "Login" in the top right corner
Use the Google Sign-in button and your GSIS email address to log in

Reference List

A list of all primary and secondary research sources used

In MLA8 format, sources should be alphabetical by the last name of the author (or title if there is no author)

Reference Citations Format by Type of Source

Basic formatting for various reference citations:

Book
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Database Article
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. (volume number), no. (issue number), Date published. Title of Database, url. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Digital Image
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Image.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Online Video
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Video.” Title of Website, uploaded by (user name), upload date (Ex. 3 July 2012), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Website
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Page.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).

MYP I&S 4 | The Cold War: Home