Home - MYP I&S 1 | Age of Exploration - GSIS LibGuides at Gyeonggi Suwon International School

Types of Sources

Primary Sources - Texts or artifacts created during the time period being investigated
Examples of primary sources: histories, letters, images, objects, speeches, charters, laws, diaries, buildings, newspapers, posters, photos

Secondary Sources - Texts focused on the time period being investigated but published after it
Examples of secondary sources: histories, documentaries, websites, journals, films, history magazines, textbooks

Image source: Hernán Cortés . image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 19 Feb. 2021. school.eb.com/levels/middle/assembly/view/150945. Accessed 22 Apr. 2021.

Research Questions

How did the meeting of Francisco Pizarro and the Incas affect Spain and the Incan Civilization?
How did the meeting of Hernan Cortes and the Aztecs affect Spain and the Aztec Civilization?

Primary Source Resources

Fordham University History Sourcebooks - Colonial Latin America
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

Articles to Explore

Research Databases

Login information for each database can be found on your teacher's class resources page, or you can contact the secondary librarian.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica has been providing high-quality encyclopedias for years. Now available online, this general encyclopedia can be used to find information on a wide variety of subjects at all levels.
Ancient and Medieval History This link opens in a new window Ancient and Medieval History is an excellent resource for images, primary sources, and articles on Ancient and Medieval History. A wonderful resource for students in I&S classes.
Brain POP This link opens in a new window The BrainPOP database contains animated movies that engage students via narrative, humor, and relatable characters, encouraging self-directed learning and further exploration of the world around them.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window Explora Secondary Schools combines a user-friendly interface with the ability to search all of our EBSCO provided databases at once. It includes search results from MAZ Complete, Topic Overviews, Science Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, and TOPICsearch.

Library Books for Research

Electronic Books

Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Giving Credit to Research Sources

An excellent tool for creating MLA style citations for your resources/works cited list! NoodleTools can also be use for taking notes, organizing your ideas, and much more!

Click here to learn How To Use NoodleTools for Citing Sources

Reference List

A list of all primary and secondary research sources used

In MLA8 format, sources should be alphabetical by the last name of the author (or title if there is no author)

Reference Citations Format by Type of Source

Basic formatting for various reference citations:

Book
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Database Article
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. (volume number), no. (issue number), Date published. Title of Database, url. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Digital Image
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Image.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Online Video
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Video.” Title of Website, uploaded by (user name), upload date (Ex. 3 July 2012), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Website
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Page.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).

MYP I&S 1 | Age of Exploration: Home