Home - MYP I&S 2 | African Innovators - GSIS LibGuides at Gyeonggi Suwon International School

Innovators

What is an innovator? According to Dictionary.com, an innovator is "a person or group that introduces something new or does something for the first time." In fact, an innovator encompasses many of the IB learner profile traits which include: Inquirers, Knowledgeable, Thinkers, Communicators, Principled, Open-Minded, Caring, Risk Takers, Balanced, and Reflective.

Image source: Nelson Madela. Image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 19 Feb. 2021. school.eb.com/levels/high/assembly/view/91898. Accessed 12 Apr. 2021.

Research Task

Choose an individual, born and raised on the African continent, who greatly impacted his/her world in an innovative way. You will research, using the Big 6 Method, the ways that the individual’s life brought new ideas and new direction to his/her environments.

Additional Online Resources

Biography.com
Biography.com captures the most gripping, surprising and fascinating stories about people.
The World Factbook
The World Factbook is created by the U.S. CIA and provides information on the various countries and cultures around the world. Created by the U.S. Government, this can be trusted as a reliable source for information on various countries during research.
TIME - What makes a genius?
What Makes a Genius? The World's Greatest Minds Have One Thing in Common
You Matter
What are Innovators made of? Five traits that innovators have in common.

Research Databases

Login information for each database can be found on your teacher's class resources page, or you can contact the secondary librarian.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica has been providing high-quality encyclopedias for years. Now available online, this general encyclopedia can be used to find information on a wide variety of subjects at all levels.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window Modern World History provides primary sources, images, and articles on subjects related to World History. An excellent database with good reliable materials.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window Global Issues in Context provides collections of information from a variety of sources on topics that are currently of interest around the world. The database provides access to information from reference books, newspapers, websites, encyclopedias, and more. It gives more than one viewpoint and uses resources from around the world to give users a truly global viewpoint in their research.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window This database contains articles from a variety of newspapers and magazines from around the world. An excellent resource for looking for recent or historical news and information.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window Explora Secondary Schools combines a user-friendly interface with the ability to search all of our EBSCO provided databases at once. It includes search results from MAZ Complete, Topic Overviews, Science Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, and TOPICsearch.

Library Books for Research

Electronic Books

Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Academic Search Engines

Giving Credit to Research Sources

An excellent tool for creating MLA style citations for your resources/works cited list! NoodleTools can also be use for taking notes, organizing your ideas, and much more!

Click on the NoodleTools Icon at the left to go to the NoodleTools website
Click "Login" in the top right corner
Use the Google Sign-in button and your GSIS email address to log in

Reference List

A list of all primary and secondary research sources used

In MLA8 format, sources should be alphabetical by the last name of the author (or title if there is no author)

Reference Citations Format by Type of Source

Basic formatting for various reference citations:

Book
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Database Article
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. (volume number), no. (issue number), Date published. Title of Database, url. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Digital Image
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Image.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Online Video
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Video.” Title of Website, uploaded by (user name), upload date (Ex. 3 July 2012), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Website
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Page.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).

MYP I&S 2 | African Innovators: Home