GSIS LibGuides: Mao & the PRC: 1950-1964: Home

Resource Key

When accessing the guide content, you can use the levels below to help you:

Britannica Links

China China is the largest of all the Asian countries and has the largest population in the world. It has been controlled by the CCP since 1949.
Chinese Communist Party Chinese Communist Party (CCP), the party in control of China since the establishment of the People's Republic of China in 1949.
Cultural Revolution The Cultural Revolution was launched to renew the spirit of the Chinese Revolution during Mao Zedong's final decade in power. This was to ensure that China did not develop in the same model as the Soviet USSR.
Mao Zedong Mao Zedong was the statesman and soldier who led China's communist revolution. He was the leader of the Chinese Communist Party from 1935 until September 1976 on his death.

Communists, Nationalists, and China's Revolutions: Crash Course World History #37

Communists, Nationalists, and China's Revolutions: Crash Course World History
     #37. Directed by Stan Muller. Performed by John Green. CrashCourse,
     2012. Accessed March 19, 2018. https://www.youtube.com/
     watch?v=UUCEeC4f6ts&index=37&t=18s&list=PLBDA2E52FB1EF80C9.

Asian Responses to Imperialism: Crash Course World History #213

Asian Responses to Imperialism: Crash Course World History #213. Directed by
     Stan Muller. Performed by John Green. CrashCourse, 2014. Accessed March 19,
     2018. https://www.youtube.com/
     watch?v=nxmWfbXS4Pw&list=PL8dPuuaLjXtNjasccl-WajpONGX3zoY4M&index=13.

Collections

China and South Asia. Wilson Center, n.d. Accessed March 19, 2018.
http://digitalarchive.wilsoncenter.org/collection/213/china-and-south-asia.

Wilson Center Digital Archive. Contains a variety of collections of primary documents on a variety of topics. This collection contains sources primarily from the Chinese Foreign Ministry Archives Regarding the communications of the Chinese government from early in the pre-Cultural Revolution China.

Columbia University. "A Chronology of the PRC under Mao Zedong (1949-1976)."
Asia for Educators. Last modified 2009. Accessed March 19, 2018.
http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/special/china_1950_prc_timeline.htm.

Asia for Educators timeline on the PRC as it was led by Mao Zedong from 1949 until his death in 1976. This timeline includes the specific dates that laws were enacted or made widely known, many of which specifically relate to the