Home - Bible 11/12 | Comparing Religions - GSIS LibGuides at Gyeonggi Suwon International School

Buddhism

Image from: Buddha. Image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 8 Aug. 2020. Accessed 18 Nov. 2020.

Research Databases

Login information for each database can be found on your teacher's class resources page, or you can contact the secondary librarian.

Britannica School This link opens in a new window Encyclopedia Britannica has been providing high-quality encyclopedias for years. Now available online, this general encyclopedia can be used to find information on a wide variety of subjects at all levels.
Modern World History This link opens in a new window Modern World History provides primary sources, images, and articles on subjects related to World History. An excellent database with good reliable materials.
Explora Secondary Schools This link opens in a new window Explora Secondary Schools combines a user-friendly interface with the ability to search all of our EBSCO provided databases at once. It includes search results from MAZ Complete, Topic Overviews, Science Reference Center, Consumer Health Complete, and TOPICsearch.
Advanced Placement Source This link opens in a new window Advanced Placement Source is designed to provide access to high-quality articles and images for use in AP and IB courses. It is excellent for a variety of subjects and can be used to help with research from MYP through DP.

Islam

Image from: Abu Darweesh Mosque. Image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 8 Aug. 2020. Accessed 19 Nov. 2020.

Library Books for Research

Electronic Books

Google Books
Search the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books.

Hinduism

Image from: Mahatma Gandhi. Image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 8 Aug. 2020. Accessed 19 Nov. 2020.

Academic Search Engines

Judaism

Image from: Jerusalem: Western Wall, Temple Mount . image. Britannica School, Encyclopædia Britannica, 19 Feb. 2021. Accessed 30 Aug. 2021.

Additional Online Resources

Learn Religions
The mission at Learn Religions is to help you explore the practices of your own faith, understand your neighbor’s beliefs, and familiarize yourself with the world’s major religions.
BBC Religions
A collection of information about a variety of religions including buddhism, hinduism, and islam.
The Pluralism Project - Harvard
This website explores the religious traditions of humankind including Buddhism, Hinduism, Islam, and more.
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society
Buddhist Digital Resource Center
Buddhist Digital Resource Center is dedicated to preserving and sharing Buddhist texts through the union of technology and scholarship.
Introduction to Islam: An Online Text
The purpose of this book is to convey to a non-Muslim audience an understanding of Islam, its history, culture, and contribution to civilization.
Jewish Virtual Library
A collection of resources that provides information about the history of Judaism.

Giving Credit to Research Sources

An excellent tool for creating MLA style citations for your resources/works cited list! NoodleTools can also be use for taking notes, organizing your ideas, and much more!

Click here to learn How To Use NoodleTools for Citing Sources

Reference List

A list of all primary and secondary research sources used

In MLA8 format, sources should be alphabetical by the last name of the author (or title if there is no author)

Reference Citations Format by Type of Source

Basic formatting for various reference citations:

Book
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. City of Publication, Publisher, Publication Date.
Database Article
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Article.” Title of Journal, vol. (volume number), no. (issue number), Date published. Title of Database, url. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Digital Image
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Image.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Online Video
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Video.” Title of Website, uploaded by (user name), upload date (Ex. 3 July 2012), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).
Website
Author Last Name, Author First Name. “Title of Page.” Title of Website, Publisher of Site (only if this is different than the name of the website), url of website. Date accessed (Ex. Accessed 1 April 2020).

Bible 11/12 | Comparing Religions: Home